Day in the Life: NJ to CA, a journey

This is going to be a little update on what’s going on and what I’ve been thinking about everything so far.

The weather is nearly always sunny and I love walking around and taking in the new scenery. Thank goodness for sunscreen. Palm trees are everywhere and I’ve heard the locals are also quite amiable (Southern Californian hospitality?). Coming from northern NJ, it’s a bit weird not seeing the New York City skyline or the multitude of buildings that tower over everything. New Jersey has the highest population density in the nation which doesn’t surprise me after seeing how seemingly spacious it feels in Southern California. There’s so much open land with a lot of construction work and development going on.

Fun Fact: UC Irvine’s mascot is an Anteater.

I’m always in awe when I see the mountains in the distance while on the highway. It makes me feel enlightened in a sense. Whenever I look around and see this beautiful horizon, dotted with more peaks than buildings, I feel small. It’s truly inspiring (I may or may not have had an existential crisis).
I also think about how big California is and how different the areas are within. Did I mention that there are a lot of palm trees here?

Fun Fact: What does the anteater say? Zot.

I’m excited for the next chapter in my journey and although I’ll miss the cozy home I had in NJ, I can’t wait to make an unforgettable college experience here.
In the words of an anteater: Zot! Zot!

Leave a Reply

