New Year’s Resolution Part 1

hahaha this needs a second part...

After an eventful 2016, I decided to do something drastic for my New Year’s resolution. As the year came to a close, I realized that I’d been spending a lot of time on my electronic devices, be it my laptop, phone, or even the TV. Knowing that winter quarter would need more attention from my end, I decided to delete all social media applications and mobile games off my phone. Yes, all of them. Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter. The afflicted games included Hill Climb Racing, Minecraft, and Clash of Clans, among others. I even queued up a status to post on my accounts to inform anyone interested that, yes, — I’m still well and alive. Effective January 1, 2017, my phone had become decluttered.

While I don’t intend on making my social media “detox” last forever, it’s still a great opportunity. Resolutions are useful since they represent the idea of working towards a better self. The attractive idea of unlocking our potential with resolutions is exactly why we still make them every year. It’s been six days since I started my resolution, and I haven’t looked back since. I have to say, though, the first day was the most difficult. I found myself looking at my phone aimlessly more times than I’d like to admit. Thankfully, I’d encountered this type of obstacle from past resolutions, so I came prepared. The first few days I inundated myself with activities; spending time with my family, watching TV, playing tennis and writing (on pen and paper). The plan worked like a charm. I simply didn’t have time to worry about the latest Instagram post or Snapchat story. I’d cleared the first hurdle towards independence from my phone.

It’s quite liberating to truly enjoy life in front of me and not by proxy on social media. Although I know my resolve will continue to be tested in the future, I’m planning on sticking it out until the very end. Some dismiss making resolutions as a waste of time. However, I, for one, am excited by the idea of beginning something beneficial and long lasting.

Leave a Reply

